The Mi'kmaq Nation Tribal Elections

The Mi'kmaq Nation holds tribal elections every two years. Our annual meetings are held in April with nominations to our government happening on odd numbered years.

Upon successful completion of nominations, our election is held on the second Tuesday in May followed by the newly elected government taking their seats at the next regular Tribal Council meeting.

Our next election process will take place in 2021 for Tribal Chief, Vice-Chief, and top three seats then again in 2023 for the bottom four seats on Tribal Council will be elected.

The Election Ordinance is the governing documents for our Tribal Elections. Click the link to read Election Ordinance.

Edward Peter-Paul

Tribal Chief
2021-2025 (4 yr Term)

Richard Silliboy

2021-2025 (4 yr Term)

Norman Bernard

2019-2023 (4 yr Term)

Christina Donnelly

2021-2025 (4 yr Term)

Shannon Hill

2021-2025 (4 yr Term)

Sheila McCormack

2019-2023 (4 yr Term)

Eldon Esplings

2021-2023 (2 yr Term)

Roldena Sanipass

2021-2025 (4yr Term)

Frederick Getchell

2019-2023 (4 yr Term)